Favorite Things

Today I got to do one of my favorite things:

Take a NAP, while the whole house – husband, daughter, son – napped too. There’s nothing like playing hard, and then resting hard. We took the kiddos to the zoo for the first time, and of course after only two hours in the beautiful sunshine, my toddler (and I!), were beat. But then the kids drop blissfully off to nether land, and I get to crawl into my cool, dark, air conditioned room with my hubby, let my pillow hit the cool sheet, and BAM, bliss. Not just because I get a nap. But because in the quiet I can stop and appreciate what God has given me. His rest. His peace. This family. The feeling of fatigue after the hard work of playing hard! Contentment that I can feel a piece of God’s heaven – even if for 10 minutes – in this crazy, hard, challenging world. As I closed my eyes to rest today, I had the notion that heaven is probably a continuous string of perfect moments. I really look forward to that. THAT is going to be my favorite 🙂

(This post is my first time participating in “Five Minute Friday,” a blogging community that writes for 5 minutes each week, with no major edits. This week’s prompt: “favorite.”)

2 thoughts on “Favorite Things

  1. Yay Kathy! You did it! I am absolutely completely stuck on this word prompt. It’s actually really ridiculous. Really really. I think I’m overthinking things… 😉 Anyways, well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

